August 28, 2011

Friends, as you know I am on vacation this week.  However, have no fear you will still have a blog entry for the week!  Matt Snelgrove, who will be preaching this Sunday has given us some insight into the scripture for the coming week.  We will be leaving Romans briefly once again.  The following are Matt’s thoughts from Matthew 11 and 2 Corinthians.
 
I was thinking about this today and praying and on the way home from work, it hit me. I work 50 hours a week and look forward everynight to be home and relax from a hard days work. It doesn’t seem like a long time in between the times when I get home to the time I have to get back up and head to work at 6:30. But, I am thankful for that little bit of time to rest and let my body settle down. In Matthew chapter 11, Jesus tells us to come to Him when we are tired and He’ll give us the rest we need. He talks about us putting on His yoke, the days of oxen they would put yokes round their necks so the bigger ox can carry the load. The other side of the yoke you would have a younger ox. This was to trian the younger ox and not put too much weight on his neck until he was strong enough to carry the load. In some ways, Jesus is the older much stronger ox and He wants us to get in with Him so  he can take the heaviest of the load so we can rest when we are weak and heavy burdened. There is hope, even when we can’t see it at times there is hope. Just like I know everyday when driving home from work, there is rest at home and I can lay it all down. The same hope is in Jesus and our Heavenly home, We can lay it all down at His feet and rest in the lap of our Savior. When we are thristy, He’ll give us something to drink. when we are worried, He’ll be our comforter. There is Hope for us and for all that come into a relationship with Jesus. He loves us and never let us go without anything. A story I heard once goes something like this: a Sunday school teacher asked her class if anyone could recite the 23 Psalm, one little girl in the back raised her hand, stood up cleared her throat and this is what she said, “The Lord is My Sheppard and I don’t want anymore.” And she sat back down. Even as Christians at times we  tend to lose focus of this Hope. Jesus never said it was going to be easy, He just said “I’ll be with you…” He’s a very big God and can handle everything we give Him. So, I challenge you and me to stop telling God how big our problems are and start telling our problems how big our God is. There is Hope and there is rest for all that come to Him. All we need to do is come.
Leave a Reply

